Craft #9 – Thinking of You Card

20 Jan

One of the most frustrating things about being chronically ill, is how much of your life is taken from you.
Growing up as the youngest of three girls in a single parent household, there wasn’t a whole lot of spoiling rotten going on. Not that our Christmas presents were clothes, but it was only because of my Mum’s excellent budgeting skills that we had the things we did.

On some of the school holidays and long weekends, I’d go alone to stay with my great aunt Dawn. And she DID spoil us.
Dinner was whatever you wanted to eat (Cheeseburgers OK! She ate her own healthier meals) and days were filled with craft and fun.
I was always so much closer to Dawn than any of my own grandparents, and she had never been able to have children, so I suppose she had more time for us.

As I got older and sicker, my visits to Dawn have declined rapidly. She lives an hour away, and that’s just too long of a commute for me. She’s also too ill to visit me.
These days, its all I can manage just to send a card to let her know that I love her.


10924766_10152748779445168_5675956982976199295_n

This is one of the earlier cards I made. The butterflies are made using a Martha Stewart punch, and the rest was cut with the Silhouette. Dawn loves purple, so I tried to make it very purple! I used a purple ink pad to stain the top layer of card.

8 Responses to “Craft #9 – Thinking of You Card”

  1. Moongazer January 20, 2015 at 5:01 pm #

    That’s gorgeous!!

    • 100 Steps January 20, 2015 at 5:02 pm #

      Oh, thank you!

      • Moongazer January 20, 2015 at 5:15 pm #

        Purple and butterflies are some of my favourites too 🙂

      • 100 Steps January 20, 2015 at 5:19 pm #

        I find many of us who are chronically ill love butterflies! My bedroom is full of them.

      • Moongazer January 20, 2015 at 5:25 pm #

        As a teenager I kept a diary and I used to draw a little butterfly on the corner of the page of days when something good happened 🙂

      • 100 Steps January 20, 2015 at 5:28 pm #

        That is so adorable. Great that you still remember it! I remembered today that as a child in the car, I used to believe that if I saw someone talking, I could make a wish. Random or what?

  2. The Person Next to You January 20, 2015 at 11:34 pm #

    Beautiful! 🙂

    • 100 Steps February 6, 2015 at 2:35 pm #

      Thank you 🙂 I only just saw your comment sorry, for some reason it was marked as spam!

Leave a Reply

